A party to remember

A party in the night

Under the candle light

Food, laughter and the sparkling eyes

There are some days when I am just running out of groceries in my kitchen and I am in dilemma what to cook for dinner . And some sudden frequented showers in Bangalore and the temperature dips considerably. To top it all having a bad cold makes things worse  and you don’t feel like going out from the warmth of my home.

And yes next day the school is their so the child needs to sleep early too . Mom suggested why not make egg curry and I smiled reluctantly , ” Yes good idea Maa ” . But then my mind started thinking , ” Why not innovate and cook something different ? ” I  asked feebly looking for her affirmation . She remarked , ” Yes , Ok , make whatever you want and then we will make the Rotis ”

I was happy that she agreed . And my mind started working on how I will make the curry . I just had few basic things in the kitchen onions, tomatoes and some capsicums. And yes not to forget the eggs sitting pretty in my oversized refrigerator .

I used to love egg curry but used to hate the yolk which will be dense , hard and gluggy and almost every time  that was the one which will go in the bin. I decided why not cook something so that we can devour both the white and yellow part . So , I diced some red and green capsicum , some onions and tomatoes . The diced capsicum was whisked with six eggs . And then I added some mozzarella , salt and oregano . It was whisked again resulting in a frothy concoction.

DSC03583

 

I heated the pan , added some butter  and quickly  spread it evenly all over the pan . I poured the egg mixture and then closed it with a lid . After two minutes when you take out the lid , the omelet would have  swelled and cooked in the steam. Take it out nicely and cut into small squares and let it cool . The pieces will be really thick and the mozzarella adds nice zing to the omelet. Now make a gravy of tomato and onions , with some curry powder , garam masala and your favorite spices. In india every home has their own recipe of curry powder which they will use in their curries. Once the curry starts boiling you put the omelet squares in the curry and let is simmer for two minutes.

ocurry

The curry is ready to be served with hot rotis or parathas. In my home it was served and enjoyed in a nice candle light. The rain and the mist added an extra zing to the dinner. And Mr Smiley made sure that we enjoyed this dinner with lots of laughter and love . It is always nice to bond with your family over food , food cooked with love not only satiates your hunger but your soul too. And not to forget the dinner was enjoyed to the last bit with  lot of adulation pouring from the hubby and parents. It made by day .. 🙂

Sharing with Haiku Horizons

7 thoughts on “A party to remember

Leave a comment